Job to Stay

Status Quo

In 2015 and 2016, 2.1 Mio refugees applied for asylum in Europe. The migration flows and the asylum application processes contain effects not only for society but economy in all European countries – influencing their systems of vocational, general and professional education, labour markets and also have impact on organisations dealing with the support and integration of refugees or asylum seekers. People, public authorities and organisations are mostly not well enough prepared to integrate refugees into the labour market. On one hand, reasons for this might be the lack of language skills as well as the consisting lack of clarity referring to the legal status of the refugees and the related right to work. On the other hand, refugees are mostly not used to the culture, society and existing standards in European work – and daily life. Additionally, refugees cannot give proof of their graduation and often lack necessary certificates. They might have lower qualification levels as well as they face difficulties in the assessment of their previous careers.

Target group: Female refugees

Although there are many initiatives and institutions dealing with the general integration of refugees, female refugees face problems in integration more often. There is a need for specific offers to allow female refugees to actually “come in” in the new countries and then also to integrate them socially as well as economically in labour markets.
The tourism sector provides a variety of connecting factors, as here still lies enormous potential for growth. Tourism has been multicultural ever since, even more, nowadays there is an urgent need for professionals, employees and unskilled workers.

Project objective and outputs

The objective of the Erasmus+ funded project “Job to stay” is the placement and furthermore the development of relevant highly qualifying skills and competences for refugees to grant them access to vocational education and qualifications. In addition to this, another objective is the sensitization of decision makers at different levels. Still, the core of this project is the integration of female refugees into the labour market in the tourism sector.

Within two years, five chosen qualification profiles of the tourism sector shall be described according to the EQF level 2. Based on them, the partners are going to develop an assessment model for these profiles, which is going to be tested in a 6-months “placement integration model” in reality. The concluding Green Paper will conclude all results and experiences of the project to enable other stakeholders and users access of the summary.

Project partners

Nine partners in this EU-project cooperate and work commonly on a common objective across country borders. Due to the expertise of EUROPEAN NEIGHBOURS (Austria), Formazione Co & So Network (Italy) and the Association Odyssée (France), social inclusion and the integration into the labour market of female refugees are possible. In addition to this, the development of educational programmes for female refugees counts as extensive experience of the Slovene Philanthropy asssociation for the promotion of voluntary work (Slovenia). The IHK Projektgesellschaft (Ostbrandenburg) mbH as well as the Verbund für soziale Projekte (VSP) communicate with the target group on a nearly daily basis due to their work, furthermore they have a large spread network within the German economy. The network is also one of the strengths of the European Network for Transfer and Exploitation of EU Project Results (E.N.T.E.R.; Austria), which is going to spread the project results to the target groups, stakeholders as well as for general public. Last but not least, the Fachhochschule des Mittelstands (University of Applied Sciences; FHM; Germany) Schwerin and the Univerza na primorskem (Slovenia) ensure the scientific quality of the international project and make sure that all results are scientifically valid and proven.

This project is supported by the Erasmus+ programme of the European Commission. This communication relies only with the view of its author and does not reflect the view of the European Commission.

Project N°2017-1-DE02-KA202-004272 Job to stay – Sustainable Integration of Low-skilled Refugees into the Tourism Labour Market

Job to Stay

Status Quo

En 2015 et 2016, 2,1 millions de personnes ont déposé une demande d’asile en Europe. Les flux migratoires et les processus de demandes d’asiles produisent des effets non seulement au sein de la société mais également dans l’économie de l’ensemble des pays européens, influençant les systèmes éducatifs et de formation professionnelle ainsi que le marché de l’emploi. Les organisations apportant un soutien et favorisant l’insertion des réfugiés et des demandeurs d’asile sont également directement concernées par la situation. Certaines personnes, autorités publiques et organisations ne sont pas suffisamment préparées pour permettre l’insertion des réfugiés dans le marché du travail. Parmi les raisons susceptibles d’expliquer les difficultés en termes d’insertion professionnelle se trouvent les lacunes linguistiques ainsi que le manque de clarté quant au statut de réfugié et au droit du travail qui y est lié. D’autre part, les réfugiés ne sont pas toujours habitués aux normes et aux codes culturels et sociétaux en Europe, tant dans le milieu professionnel que dans la vie quotidienne. Enfin, certains réfugiés ne sont pas en mesure de fournir les documents attestant de leur niveau d’études ou de la certification requise pour occuper un emploi, et ils sont parfois confrontés à des difficultés lors de l’évaluation de leurs précédentes expériences professionnelles.

Groupe cible : les femmes réfugiées

Bien qu’il existe de nombreuses initiatives et institutions œuvrant en faveur de l’intégration des réfugiés, il apparaît souvent que les femmes réfugiées sont davantage confrontées à des difficultés d’insertion. Il existe donc un besoin plus spécifique pour permettre aux femmes réfugiées de s’installer dans le pays de destination et de s’y insérer ensuite sur le plan social et professionnel.

Le secteur du tourisme offre une variété de possibilités et dispose d’un important potentiel de croissance. Ce secteur a toujours été interculturel par essence et il y existe aujourd’hui un besoin en main d’œuvre professionnelle d’employés et de travailleurs peu-qualifiés.

Objectifs et impacts du projet

L’objectif du projet Job to Stay, financé par le programme Erasmus+, est le placement en milieu professionnel ainsi que le développement des compétences des réfugiés pour leur permettre d’accéder à la formation et à la qualification. A cet objectif s’ajoute celui de la sensibilisation des décideurs politiques à différentes échelles territoriales. Le cœur du projet se concentre sur l’insertion des femmes réfugiées au sein du marché de l’emploi du secteur du tourisme.

Au cours des deux prochaines années, les partenaires décriront les cinq profils professionnels du secteur du tourisme choisis en accord avec le niveau 2 du Cadre Européen des Certifications. A partir de ces descriptions, les partenaires développeront un outil d’évaluation des compétences pour ces cinq métiers qui sera testé au cours d’une période d’immersion professionnelle de 6 mois. A l’issue du projet, le partenariat élaborera un Livre Vert qui synthétisera les résultats et les retours d’expériences pour permettre à d’autres acteurs d’en bénéficier.

Les partenaires du projet

Neuf partenaires en provenance de différents pays européens coopèrent au sein de ce projet et travaillent ensemble vers un objectif commun. Grâce à leur expérience, « European Neighbourds » (Autriche), « Formazione Co & So Network » (Italie) et « l’association Odyssée » (France), contribueront à rendre possible l’inclusion sociale et l’insertion dans le marché de l’emploi des femmes réfugiées. Le développement du programme d’enseignement pour les femmes réfugiées s’appuiera sur la solide expérience de l’association Slovène de « philanthropie pour la promotion du bénévolat » (Slovénie). « IHK Projektgesellschaft (Ostbrandenburg) mbH » et l’association « Verbund für soziale Projekte (VSP) » (Allemagne) travaillent quotidiennement avec le public cible du projet et disposent d’un important réseau de partenaires en Allemagne. Le réseau partenarial est également l’une des forces de « European Network for Transfer and Exploitation of EU Project Results – E.N.T.E.R » (Autriche) qui sera en charge de disséminer les résultats du projet auprès des réfugiés, des parties prenantes et du grand public. Enfin, « Fachhochschule des Mittelstands » de Schwerin (Université des Sciences appliquées – PME, Allemagne) et « Univerza na primorskem » (Slovénie) s’assurent de la qualité de la démarche scientifique dans ce projet international ainsi que de l’obtention de résultats scientifiquement prouvés et validés.

Ce projet est soutenu par le programme Erasmus+ de la Commission Européenne. Cette communication n’engage que son auteur et la Commission n’est pas responsable de l’usage qui pourrait être fait des informations qui y sont contenues.

Projet N°2017-1-DE02-KA202-004272 Job to stay – Sustainable Integration of Low-skilled Refugees into the Tourism Labour Market